Lewis Black’s Retirement From Touring, Final Dates Unveiled – Upnewsdaily

Lewis Black’s Retirement From Touring, Final Dates Unveiled – Upnewsdaily

EXCLUSIVE: After 35+ years as a touring stand-up comedian, Lewis Black is preparing to park his tour bus for good.

On the road through next month to wrap up his 2023 tour, Off The Rails, Black this morning unveiled the dates for Goodbye Yeller Brick Road, The Final Tour, which is set to take place throughout North America and Europe from January through May. Tickets go on sale Friday, November 17 at 10 a.m. local time, with Official Fan Club pre-sale starting Tuesday, November 14 at 8 a.m. PT / 11 a.m. ET. (View the full list of dates below.)

Going forward, as Black moves away from doing hundreds of live shows a year, he will for the most part devote his time to the writing of a new play and book, as well as an expansion of his podcast, Rantcast. But while his time on the road is nearly over, the 75-year-old comic does expect to continue performing on stage “from time to time.”

The comedian told Upnewsdaily that he’s been letting folks know about his impending retirement for a while now, though no one believed he was serious. He joked that if anyone asks why he would retire from touring, this would be “after years of being asked” why he would ever have entertained such an “exhausting” pursuit in the first place.

Black also spoke about the “great joy” he’s taken from touring and the “world of possibilities” it’s opened for him over the years. “I thought the road would go on forever, well I was wrong about that. And the fact is as hard as the road maybe to be on, it’s harder to leave it,” he said. “I am only retiring from touring. It’s time for me to explore other avenues such as writing, reading your rants, and pitching tv shows that will be rejected. (Which is why I know they are good.) More importantly I can finally give my Fantasy Football team the focus and time it truly needs. And maybe, just maybe I can become the professional golfer I was born to be.”

In an exclusive interview with Upnewsdaily, Black explained that he would probably have already retired from touring as a stand-up, had it not been for the Covid pandemic. “Here’s what I learned from all this— that whole thing of five-year plans? ‘Oh, what are you going to do in five years?’ Don’t ask the question anymore,” he jokes. “It’s a stupid f**king question.”

As someone whose touring career took off in his 40s, who began his career as a playwright, he “never expected” to have cultivated such an accomplished career in this arena, referring to his tour bus and “a sense of discipline” in his lifestyle as the factors most key to his longevity.

Perhaps the best part of touring, for Black, has been getting to see the U.S. like few people ever do, which was always a goal. Some of the best years, for the comic, came upon his introduction to The Daily Show, when he routinely found himself performing for people of all ages.

In looking back at his years touring a “spectacular” assortment of venues, Black only wishes he had filmed more of his life on the road — “not so much to get it out to everybody,” he says, “but just to have a record of it.”

In a tease of the material to be heard on his final tour, Black jokes that it will be life changing. “I think, finally, I’ll demonstrate my ability to cure a variety of diseases. That’s really the transition I’m going through,” he says. “As many Americans seem to have done, I’m moving on from just being a comic to being a healer, and that’s the big surprise, when I show up in their town and set up at an airport and do 50 to a hundred healings, and then fly out the next day.”

While he initially intended to wrap up his stand-up career with two specials, including one “psychotically titled Louis Black’s Greatest Hits,” he’s now just planning to put together one centered around his last tour, in which he will further reflect on life “in satirical times.” In addition to the aforementioned, upcoming projects for Black will hopefully include a travel show that he will host, showcasing his favorite places in the U.S.

A two-time Grammy winner and six-time nominee known for his trademark style of comedic yelling and finger pointing, Black’s goal in his career has for the most part been to make people laugh at life’s hypocrisies and the insanity he sees in the world. Thus far surpassing 1.3 million views on YouTube, his most recent special, Tragically, I Need You, explores topics including his ways of coping with the pandemic, his frustrations with the evolving world, and of course his thoughts about the chaos of America these last few years.

In addition to numerous specials for HBO, Comedy Central, Showtime, and Epix, Black has released eight critically acclaimed comedy albums, including Grammy winners The Carnegie Hall Performance and Stark Raving Black. He’s the longest-running contributor on Comedy Central’s The Daily Show, having been with the show from the beginning, and has also published three bestsellers and 40+ plays, seeing his work performed throughout the country.

Also an actor soon to heard reprising his role as Anger in Disney/Pixar’s Inside Out 2, Black’s other feature credits include Universal’s Accepted co-starring Blake Lively and Justin Long, Man of the Year opposite Robin Williams, and Paul Feig’s children’s Christmas movie, Unaccompanied Minors, for Warner Bros. He’s also previouslyn been seen on shows like Madoff, The Big Bang Theory, and The Root of All Evil, which he hosted for Comedy Central.

Black’s ongoing podcast, Rantcast, sees him give voice to rants written by fans from around the world. The comic is repped by Paradigm and Del Shaw Moonves.

LEWIS BLACK: OFF THE RAILS TOUR 2023

Thursday, November 16, 2023 Troy, NY Troy Savings Bank Music Hall
Friday, November 17, 2023 Peekskill, NY Paramount Hudson Valley Theater
Saturday, November 18, 2023 Waterbury, CT Palace Theater
Sunday, November 19, 2023 New London, CT Garde Arts Center
Thursday, November 30, 2023 Rocky Mount, VA The Harvester Performance Center
Friday, December 1, 2023 Bristol, TN Paramount Bristol
Saturday, December 2, 2023 Charlottesville, VA The Paramount Theater
Sunday, December 3, 2023 Morgantown, WV Metropolitan Theatre
Friday, December 8, 2023 Montclair, NJ Wellmont Theater
Saturday, December 9, 2023 Bensalem, PA Parx Casino – Xcite Center
Wednesday, December 13, 2023 Stuart, FL The Lyric Theatre
Thursday, December 14, 2023 St. Petersburg, FL Duke Energy Center for the Arts – Mahaffey Theater
Friday, December 15, 2023 Jacksonville, FL Florida Theatre

LEWIS BLACK: GOODBYE YELLER BRICK ROAD, THE FINAL TOUR 2024

*bold denotes newly added dates on sale November 17

Thursday, January 18, 2024 Monterey, CA Golden State Theatre
Friday, January 19, 2024 Santa Barbara, CA Lobero Theatre
Saturday, January 20, 2024 Anaheim, CA City National Grove of Anaheim
Thursday, January 25, 2024 Modesto, CA Gallo Center for the Arts
Friday, January 26, 2024 Brooks, CA Cache Creek Casino Resort
Saturday, January 27, 2024 Reno, NV Silver Legacy Resort Casino – Grande Exposition Hall
Sunday, January 28, 2024 Santa Rosa, CA Luther Burbank Center for the Arts
Friday, February 2, 2024 Denver, CO Paramount Theatre
Saturday, February 3, 2024 Boulder, CO Boulder Theater
Sunday, February 4, 2024 Fort Collins, CO The Lincoln Center
Friday, February 16, 2024 Grand Rapids, MI GLC Live at 20 Monroe
Saturday, February 17, 2024 Detroit, MI MotorCity Casino Hotel – Sound Board
Sunday, February 18, 2024 Waukegan, IL Genesee Theatre
Friday, February 23, 2024 Chesterfield, MO The Factory
Saturday, February 24, 2024 Springfield , MO Gillioz Theatre
Sunday, February 25, 2024 Omaha, NE Steelhouse Omaha
Friday, March 8, 2024 Red Bank, NJ Count Basie Center for the Arts
Saturday, March 9, 2024 Wilkes-Barre, PA F.M. Kirby Center for the Performing Arts
Sunday, March 10, 2024 Munhall, PA Carnegie of Homestead Music Hall
Thursday, March 21, 2024 Providence, RI Veterans Memorial Auditorium (The VETS)
Friday, March 22, 2024 Boston, MA The Wilbur
Saturday, March 23, 2024 Portland, ME Merrill Auditorium
Sunday, March 24, 2024 Orono, ME Collins Center for the Arts
Friday, April 19, 2024 Chattanooga, TN Walker Theatre
Saturday, April 20, 2024 Nashville, TN Tennessee Performing Arts Center (TPAC) – James K. Polk Theater: Nashville Comedy Festival
Sunday, April 21, 2024 Atlanta, GA Buckhead Theatre
Thursday, April 25, 2024 Iowa City, IA The Englert Theatre
Friday, April 26, 2024 Prior Lake, MN Mystic Lake Casino Hotel – Mystic Showroom
Saturday, April 27, 2024 La Crosse, WI Viterbo University Fine Arts Center – Main Theatre
Thursday, May 2, 2024 Wilmington, DE The Grand Opera House – Copeland Hall
Friday, May 3, 2024 Washington, DC The John F. Kennedy Center for The Performing Arts – Concert Hall
Saturday, May 4, 2024 Richmond, VA The National
Tuesday, May 14, 2024 Amsterdam, NL Meervaart Theater
Thursday, May 16, 2024 Brussels, BE La Madeleine
Sunday, May 19, 2024 London, UK Leicester Square Theatre
Wednesday, May 22, 2024 Berlin, DE Ernst-Reuter-Saal
Friday, May 24, 2024 Stockholm, SE Södra Teatern

Check Also

Tesla reportedly halts Cybertruck deliveries amid complaints over pedal

Tesla reportedly halts Cybertruck deliveries amid complaints over pedal

Tesla has reportedly paused all Cybertruck deliveries as customers have complained of a potentially fatal …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *